Protective Styling 101: Yarn Locs

img_0232

Protective styling is my crutch. I have so much hair and it’s so thick that it aggravates me to do it. Don’t get me wrong, I love my natural hair, but it is high maintenance. So I use protective styling quite often. The most recent style I got were yarn locs. I installed a set of yarn locs a year ago, but I didn’t keep them in because they were so tight. However, I recently saw someone with a gorgeous set of yarn locs and I just had to try them again lol.

Here are the deets on my new hair:

What did you use?

I used Red Heart Saver yarn. I used the colors black and coffee.

img_0229

3How did you prepare your hair?

Prior to installation, I washed and conditioned my hair with the Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo and Restorative Conditioner. Then I deep conditioned my hair with the Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque. Following that, I moisturized and sealed my hair with the Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Leave-in and Jamaican Black Castor Oil. I used the “LO” method. The “LO” method is my version of LOC (LO stands for leave-in and oil lol).

img_0222
img_0223
img_0228

How do you plan on maintaining your hair while in the protective style?

I plan on moisturizing my roots with the Motions Nourish Leave-in Condition and oiling my scalp with Jamaican Black Castor Oil. I do plan on steaming my hair so my hair under the yarn can get some type of moisture.

*Note: I don’t own a hair steamer, so I will be steaming my hair in the shower.*

img_0227
img_0228

 How long do you plan on keeping the faux locs in?

I installed my hair in late November. I wanted to wait until New Years to remove them, but I took them out today.

 

Author: sasmithh

A twenty something just trying to find her way.

Leave a Reply

