Embrace Your Inner Artist

A few months ago I had a meeting with a mentor of mine. We usually meet twice a month to discuss my career goals, classes, issues, etc. She listened to me when I confessed that I no longer wanted to be a physician. In fact, she encouraged me to explore other interests and find my niche in life.

At this point, I had no idea how to go about this. I had different hobbies that I enjoyed, but how was I going to turn them into careers? Then it came to me. One of my favorite Youtubers, Jouelzy, said on her video that before she turned 30, she was going to make a list of her childhood dreams and include reasons why she didn’t follow them. What dreams that didn’t have reasons, she was going  to follow them.

That was my answer, so I followed suit.

My childhood dreams consisted of:

  1. Being an Artist
  2. Being a Scientist
  3. Being a Radio Personality

You’re probably thinking, why isn’t “physician” included? Well, I made the decision to pursue medicine in high school.

So, I didn’t pursue art because I had no clue what career that would put me in. As a high school student, I didn’t know about the different aspects of art.  Out of fear, I kept art as a hobby. I can’t stand working in a lab, so being a scientist is definitely out of the question. I never tried to become a radio personality because I’m extremely shy lol, and after a while, I stopped listening to the radio.

My first post consisted of me stating that I had a change in career plans. Since then, I’ve researched different things and what I would have to do and in order to pursue them. I’ve decided that whatever I pursue, I have to satisfy the creative spirit that has been stifled all of these years. It doesn’t necessarily have to be in the arts, but it has to creative. I received a notification from my SITC app that confirmed this transition. It included a scripture that stated:

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9 (NIV)

I have to embrace my art, my blog, my creativity. I’m glad that my mama is on my side. More importantly, God is on my side. No more resisting my purpose. It’s only up from here. So, if you are anything like me, embrace your inner “self”. For me, it was my inner “artist”. For you, it may be your inner “athlete”, or inner “scientist”. If you are confused about your career path, reflection and prayer is the best way. Reflect on things you truly enjoy, and pray about moving forward.

Be great everyone,

Alexis:)

Author: sasmithh

A twenty something just trying to find her way.

2 thoughts on “Embrace Your Inner Artist”

Leave a Reply

